Mon, Jul 15, 2024
Text Size

CSIR Fourth Paradigm Institute

(Formerly CSIR Centre for Mathematical Modelling and Computer Simulation)

A constituent laboratory of Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR).

Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India.


Dr. Upadhya, former Director, CSIR National Aerospace Laboratories(NAL) held additional Charge of C-MMACS "Scientist-in-Charge" during 2008-2010. Dr Upadhya received his B.Tech and M.E degrees in Aeronautical Engineering from IIT, Kharagpur (1972) and IISc, Bangalore (1974) respectively. He obtained his Ph D from the Cranfield Institute of Technology, Cranfield, UK in 1980. He is one of the few specialists in the country in the multi-disciplinary field of Aeroelasticity. He has made major contributions to Aerospace industry, many of them are first in the country. He has received many prestigious awards, few of them are Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), 2010. Distinguished Alumnus Award of Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur & Department of Aerospace Engineering, IISc, Bangalore. Visvesvaraya Vijnana Puraskar of Swadeshi Vijnana Andolana, Karnataka and Visvesvaraya Technological University(VTU), 2008. Honoured as Engineering Personality by the Institution of Engineers at its 24th Indian Engineering Congress held at NITK Surathkal, December 2009. Currently he is Advisor and Business Consultant at CSIR National Aerospace Laboratories.